Planning Commission


The Borough Planning Commission is authorized and directed to perform the duties and exercise the powers conferred upon said commission by the ordinances of the borough and the laws of the state. It shall be the duty of the Planning Commission to prepare, from time to time, plans for the systematic development and betterment of the entire borough as a place of residence and for business.


The Planning Commission meets regularly on the second Tuesday of each month with the ability to meet on the fourth Tuesday of the month as needed. The filing deadline for a Planning Commission meeting is the Friday after the previous month's meeting.

Planning Commission Rules of Procedure (PDF)


Decisions of the Planning Commission/Platting Board may be appealed within 15 days of the date of decision. Conditional use permits and variances may be appealed to the Board of Adjustment (Borough Assembly). Subdivision approvals may be appealed to Superior Court. Specific questions on appeals may be directed to the Department of Planning and Community Development.

Notification List

Click on the link below to subscribe to the Planning Commission list service. This list service provides notifications of meetings, publishing of dockets and packets, and notifications of Assembly meetings regarding Planning Commission cases that require review of the Borough Assembly.

Planning Commission List Service

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.

Appointment Process

The members of the Planning Commission are appointed by the Borough Mayor, subject to confirmation by the Assembly. The Planning Commission consists of 7 members: 4 who reside within the Ketchikan city limits, and 3 who reside in the Borough outside the Ketchikan City limits. Appointments to City seats on the commission are recommended by the Ketchikan City Council. Annual appointments are made the first Assembly meeting in March.

The Borough Clerk's Office is accepting applications for appointment to two Planning Commission positions: one for a member residing within the corporate limits of the City of Ketchikan and one for a member residing outside the corporate limits of the City of Ketchikan. Both terms of office will begin March 2023 and end March 2026. Applications for appointment may be submitted to the Borough Clerk's Office through Friday, January 27, 2023, and must include a declaration of candidacy, a personal resume, and/or statement of qualifications and interest. 

Additional Information and forms are available from the Office of the Borough Clerk at 1900 First Avenue Ste 115, Ketchikan, Alaska. 

Declaration of Candidacy - City Seat (Inside City Limits) 

Declaration of Candidate - Rural Seat (Outside City Limits) 


PictureMemberPositionTerm Ends
Sharli Arntzen
Sharli ArntzenCommission Chair
Rural Seat
March 1, 2024

Jos GovaarsVice Chair
Rural Seat
March 1, 2023
Joe Mainardi
Joseph Mainardi
Rural SeatMarch 1, 2024
Jacquie Meck
Jacquie Meck
City SeatMarch 1, 2024
Mike Medford
Michael Medford
City SeatMarch 1, 2023

Michael Martin

City Seat
March 1, 2025

Robb Arnold City Seat
March 1, 2025